ZAP Comix # 9


The 1978 Tenth Anniversary issue.

ISBN: 867191139

Out of stock

SKU: ZAP09 Categories: , , , , Product ID: 24706


The 1978 Tenth Anniversary issue.


S. Clay Wilson – The Checkered Demon

R. Crumb – Lap o’ Luxury

S. Clay Wilson – Travelin’ Assassin

Robert Williams – Muzzy the Dunce<

Gilbert Shelton – Gilbert Shelton’s Motoring Tips

Robert Williams – The Mystery Map of Assinine Atoll

Spain Rodriguez – The Breaks

Robert Williams – Coochy Cooty in “Everyone’s Doin’ It!”

S. Clay Wilson – The Sawbones Sews on the Captain’s Ear Following the Fray

Spain Rodriguez – Sangrella

S. Clay Wilson – Riot in Cell Block Number Nine

Robert Williams – Random Licks

Victor Moscoso – Artist & Model Comics

S. Clay Wilson – The Checkered Demon

Zap Artists Jam – The Sky Is, in fact, Falling

S. Clay Wilson – front cover; Spain Rodriguez and Victor Moscoso – back cover

Started in 1968 by Robert Crumb who drew the two first issues (#0 & 1), Zap Comix introduced readers to the new genre of Underground Comix. The first five issues defined the scope of the new art, inspired by but completely detached from any previous comic style, Zap artists became the reference for a new generation of cartoonists. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, V. Moscoso, R. Griffin, G. Shelton, Spain Rodriguez and R. Williams changed the face of comics, lifting them from the confines of the Comics Code to the rank of recognized art form.

52 page black and white comic with color covers.
Last Gasp, 2003 printing

Additional information

Weight6 oz
Dimensions10 × 7 × 0.125 in

Robert Crumb, editor