Art Sex Music


by Cosey Fanni Tutti

Musician and artist Cosey Fanni Tutti has continually challenged boundaries and conventions for four decades. As a founding member of the hugely influential avant-garde band Throbbing Gristle, as one half of electronic pioneers Chris and Cosey, and as an artist channelling her experience in pornographic modelling and striptease, her work on the margins has come to reshape the mainstream. Shocking, wise and life-affirming, Art Sex Music is the fascinating memoir of an inspirational woman.

Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571328529

Out of stock

SKU: 9780571328529 Category: Product ID: 43597


Art Sex Music is the autobiography of a musician who, as a founding member of the avant-garde group Throbbing Gristle and electronic pioneers Chris & Cosey, has consistently challenged the boundaries of music over the past four decades.

It is the account of an artist who, as part of COUM Transmissions, represented Britain at the IXth Biennale de Paris, whose Prostitution show at the ICA in 1976 caused the Conservative MP Nicholas Fairbairn to declare her, COUM and Throbbing Gristle ‘Wreckers of Civilisation’ . . . shortly before he was arrested for indecent exposure, and whose work continues to be held at the vanguard of contemporary art.

And it is the story of her work as a pornographic model and striptease artiste which challenged assumptions about morality, erotica, and art.

Wise, shocking, and elegant, this is the life of Cosey Fanni Tutti.

Named one of the Best Music Books of the Year by Pitchfork

“A bravura rock memoir vibrating with fierce and fearless memories — a must-have item for Chris and Cosey and Throbbing Gristle fans.” Kirkus Reviews (Starred)

512 page paperback
Faber Faber, 2018

Additional information

Weight16 oz
Dimensions8 × 5 × 1.5 in