Free Call
Ciao My Shining Star: Mark Mulcahy Benefit

Ciao My Shining Star: Mark Mulcahy Benefit

Mark Mulcahy, originally uploaded by taswan.

Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy

On September 29th Shout! Factory will release Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy, a tribute to former Miracle Legion front man Mark Mulcahy. The album features a collection of some of today’s greatest recording artists performing versions of Mark Mulcahy’s songs. Mulcahy’s wife, Melissa, died suddenly in September 2008, and proceeds from the sale of the album will go to Mulcahy to help him continue his music career while raising his 3-year-old twin daughters.

The album features 21 exclusive recordings by Thom Yorke, Michael Stipe, Dinosaur Jr., Mercury Rev, The National, Frank Black, Vic Chesnutt, Frank Turner, and Josh Rouse, among others. In addition, a further 20 tracks, from artists such as A.C. Newman, Buffalo Tom and Laura Veirs, will be available digitally. To coincide with the release, there will be two concert events, one in London and one in New York, details TBA.

Mulcahy was the front man and main songwriter for alternative rock band Miracle Legion in the 1980s to mid 1990s. Shortly after their demise, Mulcahy formed Polaris, the house band for the mid 1990s alternative television series The Adventures of Pete & Pete (1993–96) and perhaps best remembered for the song “Hey Sandy,” which was featured in the opening credits of the show.
Mulcahy has opened up for many notable artists, including Oasis and Jeff Buckley, and has received homage from Radiohead front man Thom Yorke, who dedicated a song to Mulcahy at a show in Boston. Nick Hornby wrote an essay on Mulcahy’s song “Hey Self-Defeater” (from the album Fathering) in his book 31 Songs.

Mark and his music is an old friend to those of us from the upstate New York/Berkshires/Five Colleges region. This is a heartbreaking loss and everyone here at Wow Cool HQ extends good feeling towards Mark. His is a voice so rare, it deserves the very best. Mark your calendar. grab one of these disks. UPDATE: Stereogum has posted cover art and a preview of Thom Yorke’s version of All for the Best.

UPDATE: Thom Yorke’s version of ‘All For the Best’ will also be released as a limited 7″ single backed with Mark Mulcahy’s ‘Ciao My Shining Star’ to be released on September 7, 2009. Via At/Ease

Mulcahy released his latest album, In Pursuit Of Your Happiness, in 2005, to critical praise: The Sun called it “majestic, mind-blowing, quite marvellous—your happiness is assured if you purchase this record.” “Terrific,” said The Guardian. “His third solo album opens wounds and plays with the patterns as the blood runs free.” The Daily Telegraph said, “The songs are intimate, intelligent, wise and melodic. But the really special thing is his voice: such range, such texture, such honesty—it’s gorgeous.”

Available on CD and digital download, the full track listing is as follows:
Thom Yorke – All For The Best
The National – Ashamed Of The Story I Told
Michael Stipe – Everything’s Coming Undone
David Berkeley – Loves The Only Thing That Shuts Me Up
Dinosaur Jr. – The Backyard
Chris Harford & Mr Ray Neal – Micon The Icon
Frank Black – Bill Jocko
Vic Chesnutt – Little Man
Unbelievable Truth – Ciao My Shining Star
Butterflies Of Love – I Have Patience
Chris Collingwood (Fountains Of Wayne) – Cookie Jar
Frank Turner – The Quiet One
Rocket From The Tombs – In Pursuit Of Your Happiness
Ben Kweller – Wake Up Whispering
Josh Rouse – I Woke Up In The Mayflower
Autumn Defense – Paradise
Hayden – Happy Birthday Yesterday
Juliana Hatfield – We’re Not In Charleston Anymore
Mercury Rev – Sailors And Animals
Elvis Perkins – She Watches Over Me (Son Of Actor Anthony Perkins)
Sean Watkins – A World Away From This One

This post was largely lifted right off of the Shout! press release as posted in Mark’s blog on his MySpaceship

Article on Stereogum.