Shannon Wheeler on the AltComics Podcast

At long last, the debut episode is here. AltComics talks to Too Much Coffee Man creator Shannon Wheeler about his new book Sh*T My President Says and what it takes to become a New Yorker Cartoonist. The soundtrack music is by Zoltar’s Fortune. alt.comics.shannonwheeler

Download MP3

Subscribe:

Listen on Google Play Music

Something Good To Read on a Sunday

Art

San Diego Comic-Con is giving away a special 60 page PDF edition of the Jack Kirby section of their 2017 Souvenir book.

Ghost World and Eightball creator Daniel Clowes has a new website.

Fantagraphics Books is publishing a collection of Benjamin Marra‘s Night Business at the end of the year.

The Spanish publisher of the book, Autsaider Cómics is developing a video game to promote the book.

The great American illustrator Marshall Arisman is interviewed at Vice by Nicholas Gazin. Arisman’s classes at NYC’s School of Visual Arts have been a huge influence on many artists, including myself.

Music

The Shaggs played a reunion show. All you need to know about them previously is also in the New Yorker with an illustration by the great Jaime Hernandez.


Neurosis has released a remastered version of their amazing Word As Law album. Sadly it does not contain the bonus tracks from the CD edition.

Listen to Neil Young’s Lost 1976 Album Hitchhiker.

What does Discogs cracking down on bootlegs mean to you?

Video


Someone made a film about Jawbreaker. It’s called Don’t Break Down.

I have no freaking idea if this works all the way through, but here is a YouTube playlist in 187 parts that might just be all of the crazy Thundarr The Barbarian cartoons from the 1980s by Steve Gerber, Jack Kirby and company.

Games


Hiveswap is a new point and click episodic adventure game that is a spinoff from the wildly successful webcomic experience Homestuck by Andrew Hussie. Act 1 has been announced for launch September 14th, 2017. More news at Rock, Paper, Shotgun.

Discussing Neopaganism With Your Cat

Abandoned States: Places In Idyllic 1960s Postcards Have Transformed Into Scenes Of Abandonment.

New Books at Wow Cool August 30 2017

A buncha old stuff and a buncha new stuff landed at Wow Cool this week. We also just had the Kirby Centenary celebration a few days ago. Only a small fraction of those books are in the online shop. Visit us in Cupertino to grab most of those books from the 60s ’til just this week. We have all of the $1.00 Kirby True Believers titles from Marvel.

Hilo: The Great Big Boom by Judd Winnick
Dog Man: A Tale of Two Kitties by Dav Pilkey
2023: A Trilogy by The Justified Ancients of Mu Mu
The Bloody Cardinal by Richard Sala
Calamity Jane: The Calamitous Life of Martha Jane Cannary
Cosplayers Perfect Collection by Dash Shaw
Home Time by Campbell Whyte
Mighty Jack and the Goblin King by Ben Hatke
My Little Pony: The Movie Prequel
Providence Act 3 by Alan Moore & Jacen Burrows
Saga #46 by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

and many more….

altcomics podcast trailer

Here it is! Enjoy the trailer. Hopefully all will go well and the debut full episode will go out on Tuesday, August 29th as planned.

Subscribe:

Listen on Google Play Music

Jack Kirby at 100

Jack Kirby was born in New York City August 28, 1917

Without his work it’s doubtful Wow Cool would have taken the form it has.

Photo credit unknown. Found on Jack’s grandson’s Twitter account. Jeremy Kirby also maintains JackKirbyComics.com

Something Good To Read on a Sunday

We made it to the second installment of the Sunday reads. I can now claim this is a regular feature along with New Books in the Shop on Wednesdays and the always irregular The Stupid Pages. If all goes well we should have the first full altcomics podcast on Tuesday August 29 with guest Shannon Wheeler.

Art

Simon Stålenhag’s third collection of narrative illustration, The Electric State, was successfully backed by over 5,000 Kickstarters. Here’s a profile on Boredpanda. He has a tumblr and all the usual sort of social stuff. It’s amazing work. A must for fans of Kilian Eng and Tatsuyuki Tanaka. I’ll be making sure we get his books in the Wow Cool shop. His previous books Tales from the Loop and Things from the Flood are available elsewhere right now. BoredPanda is new to me… at first glance it looks like a woolier and more clickbaity Medium, but whatever.

From the excellent Comando Cómic blog by students at IES Avempace in Zaragoza, Spain comes this great process post by David Rubin detailing the creation of a spread in a recent Black Hammer from breakdowns to final color. Article in Spanish. It’s 2017, you’d be surprised how good machine translation has gotten. More books by David Rubin. I think this first came to me via Rick Quinn.

In related news: Jeff Lemire And David Rubin Launch Sherlock Frankenstein Miniseries In Black Hammer Universe This Fall.

A disturbing, but crucial read: GMOs Are Making an Agricultural Crisis in India Even Worse.
I am a big fan and advocate of comics reportage and will try to feature that sort of thing every week.

Music

Pitchfork reviews The 200 Best Albums of the 1960s. Your mileage may vary. This made me think what the 200 best comics of the 60s were, but then I work in a comic shop every day.

They are justified, and they are ancient. In the spirit of the occasion, I stole the following paragraph from Brooklyn Vegan: “Bill Drummond and Jimmy Cauty, aka The KLF, marked their 23 year return as Justified Ancients of Mu Mu, with a three-day event/festival in Liverpool called “Welcome to the Dark Ages” which wrapped up Friday night (8/25). Only 400 tickets were sold and all attendees were considered volunteers.” Some more in-depth coverage at our old friend The Guardian. There is also a book, we are still waiting for copies at the shop as it seems to have sold out the first batch.

The De La Soul Shop has relaunched. Serious discounts can be had “The shop is back!! Use code DeLa20 for 20% off orders of $50+ / DeLa30 for 30% off $100+ / DeLa40 for 40% off $200+ ” delasoul.shop

This post was edited while listening to this excellent Peter Broderick and Peter Liversidge BBC Radio 3 Late Junction Session.

Video

Benjamin Zephaniah is interviewed by The Guardian: ‘I’m almost 60 and I’m still angry. Everyone told me I would mellow’

I know “Video” just ends up being more music. Next time I’ll get it right. Benjamin Zephaniah puts ‘hard to categorize’ at the top of his C.V., so whatever.  

Headline of the Week

Firefighters eat sausages made of piglets they saved from blaze.

Jack Kirby 100 @ Wow Cool

Every day at Wow Cool Alternative Comics in Cupertino is a celebration of the life and work of Jack Kirby, but for three days in August, 2017 we commemorate the centennial of this great artist’s birth. Jack ‘King’ Kirby was born 100 years ago. He did more to influence American comic books and pop culture in general than any other comics artist. We will be celebrating his life and work all weekend long with a total store takeover and multimedia installation. RSVP on Facebook. The event takes place Saturday, August 26–Monday, August 28, 2017. Noon–6pm each day.

New Books at Wow Cool August 23 2017

New books in the shop this week include, but are not limited to:

We have also added a bunch of J.G. Ballard books to the online shop. You can see most of the new books we receive from Diamond Comic Distributors each week here – with archives for the last three week. It is not always 100% accurate, nor is it thorough. New books in the online shop are listed on facebook as we add them.

Something Good to Read on a Sunday

Welcome to the new weekend reading column. We’re still re-arranging the deckchairs for the re-launch of the Wow Cool blog and launch of the altcomics podcast. Hopefully things will be more regular soon. The title of this feature takes its name from The Clash song The Leader… which has some strangely timely lyrics.

Art

The Girl From the Other Side: Siúil, a Rún is a manga series now making it’s way into English. It’s recommended to us by Mr. Paul Gravett. Look for it in the Wow Cool shop soon.

Go back 2D Cloud’s Summer 2017 publishing Schedule.

The Comics Reporter readers pick five favorite cartoonists to support on Patreon.

The Process Party podcast from Study Group talks to Kramers Ergot editor and cartoonist Sammy Harkham.

All 17 members of the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities (PCAH) have resigned in protest of Donald Trump’s overtly racist response to reality.

I found a video about the history of Sparkplug Books and Dylan Williams and posted it on Facebook.

Music


The secret rhythm behind Radiohead’s “Videotape”. Found via Rock Paper Shotgun’s own Sunday Papers

Aphex Twin Details Selected Ambient Works Volume II Recordings by Marc Weidenbaum on disquiet. This could be the start to a very long journey down the rabbit hole. You have been warned.

Video

A conversation with Charles Burns, Cartoonist. Featuring music by Kinski from JASON THOMAS FAULKNER on Vimeo. This is two year old, but it’s new to me.

Talking with Your Cat about Neopaganism

Elon Musk leads 116 experts calling for outright ban on killer robots. Open letter signed by Tesla chief and Google’s Mustafa Suleyman urges UN to block use of lethal autonomous weapons to prevent third age of war

New Books at Wow Cool August 16 2017

New in the shop this week:

iRig HD - High-quality guitar interface for iPhone, iPod touch, iPad and Mac/PC Equal Exchange - Delicious Coffees Grown by Small Farmers Vans,a Division of VF Outdoor, Inc.